March 16th, 2001

From mid sophomore year through the summer going into senior year I dated a boy named Tom. As it turns out he was the foundation that built my attraction to tall slender intelligent men. Tom was devilishly handsome; he had bright blue eyes a smattering of freckles and black hair. He was also 6’4” – quite the contrast to my 4’11” frame. He moved to Natick from Iowa when we were sophomores and we had biology together. We sat at the same table and every day I approached the class like an audition for something. I tried with the passion only a 15 year old desperate boy crazy girl can muster to be charming and funny – despite those worst efforts, eventually I won him over.

We started flirting in class. Tom was the quiet type and I’m pretty sure he didn’t know what to do with me. After weeks of shameless flirting masked by witty banter we exchanged screen names and flirted over instant messenger. One night, sitting at my mother’s house using any excuse to IM him I started babbling about house cleaning. He sent me a poem that he wrote where he imagined me vacuuming. I was in love.

Tom, was by standards my first REAL everything. I loved him so much. I was also stupid and 16 so before we went away for our respective summer programs going into our senior year I got real weird. He was picked to participate in a poetry intensive at [Insert Crazy College with Intense Writing School Here], because his SAT scores were so high. I went to the Boston University Theater Summer Institute (BUTI). I was getting some what bored with our relationship before we left and kind of let him know in passive aggressive ways leading up to when we left, panicking I told him I wanted to stay together (read: realizing I was stupid) at the last minute before we left.

Well, when I got back it was all messed up. He wasn’t that into me any more (I blame the really smart 16 year old girls that were all over him at his schmancy writing program) and we broke up. I was devastated. Snot everywhere, hysterics, just a fucking mess.

Eventually he started dating some girl in Texas that was in his program with him and that’s who I describe below.

So on this particular day, the girl he would later start dating visited him and he brought her to school.

Could I be any more catty?

March 16th, 2001

My Irish Eyes are Smiling 7:43am

“Oh my-“

“What?”

“Shes here… No! dont turn around!”

“Who?”

“Nevermind Brian, Vaness, don’t turn around but shes here.”

This is how my first three minutes of school started off. I’m walking down the hallway with good ol’ Vaness and we stop to give Brian a hug. I look. Tom and GIRL are walking down the hall.

I am happy. You must be thinking “What?!?!?”

Well, I had this image of her in my head.. this girl who is tall and beautiful, and flawless…. yea not so much. I’m not saying she is this horrible troll, cause I mean seriously who am I to talk? But shes not how she was talked up to be.

I guess I should be more upset cause the girl he broke up with me over isn’t “better” than me. I’m glad that she isn’t everything she was cracked up to be.

Its only 18 minutes into school, and my day is already going well. This is a good feeling.

St. Pats tomorrow baby!

 

About wickedfunny

Strapping young lass.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment